Traveling to Alaska, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in Alaska.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of cannabis. Additionally, adults are allowed to legally possess up to six cannabis plants as long as three or fewer are mature and flowering. It is also legal to possess cannabis related accessories.
There are no specific laws regarding purchase limits. However, because the legal possession limit is one ounce of cannabis, it is safe to consider the legal purchase limit to be one ounce.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public, or in specially designated cannabis retail stores.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land. Offenders found guilty of violating this law could face a fine up to $100.
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to cultivate a maximum of six cannabis plants, with no more than three flowering at one time. Your cannabis plants must be out of public view and secured from unauthorized access. You can only grow on property that you lawfully own. Anyone found guilty of not acting in compliance with the cultivation laws could face a fine of up to $750.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties.
It is legal to transport up to one ounce of cannabis and no more than six cannabis plants. All cannabis must be kept in a child-proof container that is out of reach of the driver.
You can’t legally transport an open container of cannabis, even if it is in your passengers possession. It is also illegal for a passenger to consume cannabis products in your vehicle.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
Alaska Airlines as well as a few other smaller airlines make it clear that cannabis is not allowed on board, in carry-on or checked luggage.
Pilots who knowingly carry cannabis on a flight risk losing their certification.
There is a possibility that you will get through security with cannabis, (but that still doesn’t mean you should travel with it). In Anchorage and Fairbanks airport police have been letting small amounts of cannabis through security checkpoints. (Transportation Security Administration employees call police, who then allow travelers to continue through the checkpoint with cannabis.)
The Juneau Police Department is allowing TSA to have full discretion on how they handle travers with cannabis. They won’t confiscate your marijuana but TSA may require you to leave it behind.
Still, federal law enforcement can request records from local police and consider filing charges if you decide to travel with it.
If the Alaska Marine Highway System discovers a passenger traveling with less than one ounce of cannabis they will likely ask that person to put it away. If the passenger has more than one ounce they will be reported to law enforcement.
Holland America cruises complies with federal law and don’t allow cannabis on board.
Carrying and using cannabis in the federal parks and preserves is not allowed. If you’re caught with cannabis, you could face a federal citation, which is typically a misdemeanor.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
Alaska does not recognize medical marijuana cards issues by other states. If you are 21 and older you can purchase recreational cannabis.
If you have a medical card, it won’t go far at most cannabis shops. Although Alaska was one of the first states to legalize medical cannabis, its rules don’t allow for dispensaries.
So far, no state rules explicitly ban discounts to medical cardholders, but generally, shops aren’t offering these discounts. It’s seen as a legal gray area, partially because shops aren’t allowed to provide medical advice to customers. More clarification from the state will likely be needed on the issue.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.