Traveling to California, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in California.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of cannabis and up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
Medical cannabis patients can possess up to 8 ounces, or 226.8 grams, of dried cannabis or concentrates.
You can legally purchase one ounce, or less than 28.35 grams of flower (dried cannabis), and up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
Cannabis delivery is legal across California but some counties have banned delivery in their jurisdiction.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public, or in inside businesses or spaces that hold a commercial cannabis consumption license.
Consumption is also allowed at events with a licenses granted by the BCC.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land or within 1,000 ft. of a school, day-care center, or youth center while children are present. Offenders found guilty of violating this law could face a fine up to $100.
Consumption while driving or as a passenger is not allowed. Additionally, it is illegal to consume cannabis or have an open container of flower while driving or riding as a passenger in a boat or airplane, if caught you will face a $250 fine.
Adults without a valid qualifying physician’s recommendation are allowed to legally possess up to six cannabis plants, no matter the maturity level.
Medical cannabis patients can possess up to six mature plants, or 12 immature plants.
*Some cities and counties may have differing cultivation laws
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties.
Riding a bicycle under the influence of cannabis is also illegal.
As a recreational user, it is legal to transport up to one ounce of cannabis. All cannabis must be kept in a child-proof container that is out of reach of the driver.
As a medical user, it is legal to transport up to 8 ounces, or 226.8 grams, of dried cannabis or concentrates.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
If you are a traveler over the age of 21 LAX will allow you to enter the airport with the permitted amounts of cannabis (1 ounce for rec users). You can carry cannabis anywhere inside the airport up until you get to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) area.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
If you are a non-resident and have a valid driver’s license or state/federal ID you can legally purchase cannabis.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.