Traveling to West Virginia, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in West Virginia.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
*A patient under the age of 21 must have a caregiver who is at least 21 years old. Caregivers must undergo criminal background checks and submit an application to the Bureau of Health for registry and an ID card.
Patients must always carry their medical cards on them if they are carrying cannabis. As a card holder you can possess no more than a 30-day supply of cannabis.
If you are caught with cannabis and are not a medical card holder you can face large fines and jail time.
Patients can purchase up to a 30-day supply of cannabis as determined by their doctor. Patients can only purchase from dispensaries licensed by the Bureau of Health.
Edibles are prohibited for sale but patients are allowed to make their own.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land, in a parked or moving vehicle, or in a rented property that prohibits cannabis consumption onsite If you are caught consuming in public you could face heavy fines.
It is illegal to grow cannabis in West Virginia.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of usable cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties, even if you are a medical patient.
Riding a bike or operating any kind of moving vehicle while under the influence can result in a DUI.
As a patient you can legally transport cannabis as long as it is sealed in its original packaging. Legal limits apply.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
West Virginia offers reciprocity only for terminally ill cancer patients. All other out-of-state patients cannot purchase cannabis legally.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.