Traveling to New Jersey, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in New Jersey. 

Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.

The Basics

The Need to Know


Patients must always carry their medical cards on them if they are carrying cannabis. As a patient you can possess up to two ounces of cannabis at a time. All cannabis must be kept in its original packaging at all times. 

It is illegal to possess medical cannabis on school grounds, at public recreation or youth centers, or at your place of employment, unless you’ve received written permission from your employer. 

If you are caught with cannabis and are not a medical card holder you can face large fines and jail time.

Purchasing Limits

A patient’s allowed amount is typically set by a doctor, who can prescribe a max of 2 ounces within a 30-day period. If the doctor doesn’t prescribe an allowed amount, the patient will be able to purchase the max of 2 ounces. 


You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.

It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land (including parks, beaches, rec centers) or in a parked or moving vehicle. If you are caught consuming in public you could face heavy fines. 


It is illegal for patients to grow cannabis in New Jersey.

Driving Under the Influence

If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of usable cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties, even if you are a medical patient.

Transporting Marijuana

If you are a medical card holder, it is legal to transport cannabis. If transporting or possessing cannabis outside of your home then keep the amount in your possession to a minimum. 

Exporting Marijuana

Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught. 

It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.

Traveling by Plane

Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it. 


You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.

If you are a patient in another state then you are allowed to purchase medical cannabis in New Jersey for up to six months. You will be allowed to purchase medical cannabis from NJ dispensaries and can legally possess cannabis in an amount that complies with NJ’s laws. 

Medical Marijuana

Qualifying Conditions:

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Anxiety
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Pain
  • Dysmenorrhea
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
  • Intractable skeletal spasticity
  • Migraine
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Opioid Use Disorder
  • Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and Acquired Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
  • Terminal illness with prognosis of less than 12 months to live
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Opioid use disorder
    • As long as you are undergoing medication-assisted therapy




Get Your Medical Marijuana Card

Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.

Additional Resources

Looking for more?

Check out New Jersey’s government site.

Want to learn more about the cannabis laws in other states? Click here to find out more.