Traveling to Minnesota, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in Minnesota.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
*Anyone under the age of 21 who wants to apply for a medical cannabis card must have a caretaker who is 21 or older.
Patients must always carry their medical cards on them if they are carrying cannabis. As a patient you can possess a 30 day supply of only non-smokable cannabis (pills, oil, topical, and liquid).
Patients must provide the dispensary with an appointment summary and list of prescribed cannabis medications and amounts from their doctor as well as fill out a self-evaluation form.
If you are caught with cannabis and are not a medical card holder you can face large fines and jail time.
Medical card holders can purchase no more than a 30 day supply of non-smokable cannabis. The allowed quantity will be prescribed by your doctor.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land or in a parked or moving vehicle. If you are caught consuming in public you could face heavy fines.
Growing cannabis is Minnesota is technically prohibited but there is some gray area. Cannabis is decriminalized in Minnesota and fines or prison time varies based on the amount you possess.
We’re not telling you that you should grow if you live in the Minnesota area but, if you were to grow less than 1.5 ounces of cannabis at a time we’re just saying you might only face a fine if caught.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of usable cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties, even if you are a medical patient.
If you are a medical card holder, it is legal to transport cannabis in the passenger area if it is in its original, unopened packaging. If the package has been opened or the product has been removed then you must store it in the trunk. Legal possession limits apply.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
Minnesota doesn’t offer reciprocity.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.