Traveling to Massachusetts, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in Massachusetts.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
Adults 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess a 60-day supply of cannabis inside their homes.
The DPH has defined a 60-day supply as
If you have more than 1 ounce in your home, the amount exceeding an ounce must be secured with a lock. You can legally possess less than one ounce in public.
You cannot buy more than one ounce of cannabis flower or five grams of concentrates, edibles, and other cannabis-infused products in a single purchase.
There are also dosage limitations on the sales of edibles. A single serving cannot exceed 5 milligrams of THC, Packages of edibles can have up to 20 individual servings or a total of 100 milligrams of THC.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land. You also cannot possess or consume cannabis at a preschool, K-12 school, youth center, or any any correctional or detox center.
Adults are allowed to legally possess up to six cannabis plants. All plants must be out of view of the public and must be locked up.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties.
It is legal to transport cannabis in your vehicle as long as it is in a sealed container. It is best to keep products in the trunk or a locked glove box.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
Massachusetts doesn’t offer reciprocity, but you can purchase recreational cannabis if you’re 21 or older.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.