Traveling to Hawaii, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in Hawaii.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
Patients must always carry their medical cards on them if they are carrying cannabis. As a patient you can possess up to 4 ounces of usable cannabis.
If you are caught with cannabis and are not a medical card holder you can face large fines and jail time.
Medical card holders can purchase no more than a 4 ounces within a period of 15 consecutive days and no more than 8 ounces within a period of 30 consecutive days.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land, on school grounds, in the workplace, in a vehicle, or in any other way that may endanger the health of another person. If you are caught consuming in public you could face heavy fines.
Medical patients and caregivers can grow up to 10 plants. You can only grow at a location that is identified on a patient or caregiver’s registration card. The area must be controlled or owned by that patient or caregiver.
In Jan 2024, caregivers will no longer be allowed to grow for their patients except for minors, adults lacking capacity, or on islands that don’t have dispensaries.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of usable cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties, even if you are a medical patient.
If you are a medical card holder, it is legal to transport cannabis in the passenger area if it is in its original, unopened packaging. If the package has been opened or the product has been removed then you must store it in the trunk. Legal possession limits apply.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
Hawaii does offer reciprocity for patients with medical marijuana recommendations or caregiver privileges from other states.
Patients and caregivers need to register to obtain a Hawaii 329 Registration card. Once approved their card will be active for no more than 60 days. The application process can be completed online.
Out-of-state patients may apply for no more than two, 60-day terms in a calendar year and may apply 60 days prior to their requested “start date.” There is a non-refundable application fee of $49.50. Once approved, electronic access to the Hawaii 329 Registration card will be provided.
Qualified registrants must possess a valid medical cannabis registration card from another U.S. state/territory or District of Columbia and valid government-issued ID or driver’s license from the same state/territory or District of Columbia, with the same name on the medical cannabis registration card. Additionally, visiting patients must be certified in their home state as having one or more debilitating medical conditions identified in Hawaii State Law.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.