Traveling to Florida, or do you live there and still don’t get the laws? We feel your pain, so we searched the web for you and pulled together the cannabis laws for consumers in Florida.
Please note that laws are consistently changing and although we work hard to keep this information as up to date as possible we suggest checking with the state’s government site as well.
*Anyone under the age of 18 who wants to apply for a medical cannabis card must have a caretaker who is 21 or older.
Patients must always carry their medical cards on them if they are carrying cannabis. As a patient you can possess no more than a 70-day supply of cannabis, or 4 ounces, at any given time. All
In Florida you must only posses low-THC cannabis which means the flowers, seeds, resin, and any other product derived from the cannabis plant must contain 0.8% or less THC and more than 10% CBD by weight.
If you are caught with cannabis and are not a medical card holder you can face large fines and jail time.
Medical card holders can purchase no more than a 35-day supply of smokable flower, or 2.5 ounces, and no more than a 70-day supply of cannabis in all forms. All purchased cannabis must remain in its original packaging.
You can legally consume cannabis on private property out of view from the public.
It is not allowed to consume cannabis on any federal or public land, on school campuses, in the *workplace, in a vehicle, on public transportation, and aboard an aircraft or watercraft . If you are caught consuming in public you could face heavy fines.
*Card holders are allowed to consume at work if permitted by their employer.
Neither patients nor caregivers are allowed to grow cannabis in Florida.
If you are found guilty of driving under the influence of usable cannabis you will face DUI charges and penalties, even if you are a medical patient.
If you are a medical card holder, it is legal to transport cannabis in the passenger area if it is in its original, unopened packaging. If the package has been opened or the product has been removed then you must store it in the trunk. Legal possession limits apply.
Moving cannabis across state lines is illegal and can result in a steep penalty if you’re caught.
It is also illegal to ship or send it in the mail.
Cannabis is still illegal on the federal level so it is always a risk if you decide to fly with it.
You can use your medical card in another state if that state has medical marijuana reciprocity.
Florida does not offer reciprocity.
Not sure how to get your Medical Marijuana Card? We’ve partnered with Veriheal to bring you a simple and seamless way to see if you qualify and chat with a doctor right from the comfort of your own home.